hakarl36

Languor, absurdities…

Jamie’s response to Supernormal…

with one comment

So I (Kev/ Hákarl) asked everyone to give me some responses to Supernormal. It’s taken a while to get these together. Apologies for that. Anyway. First up is Jamie, who’s not much of a one for writing (saves his skills for the music, man). So this is a transcript of a brief interview I did with him.

Jamie Glew-Osborne

Credits and love to Sarah BB (Best. Photographer. Ever)

In your personal practise, the things that you want to perfect – making certain lines more proficient, or having more articulate harmonic ideas – can be ignored because you’re in a situation where you can walk away from your instrument. Over 36 hours you feel like you’re being suffocated by your instrument and others around you. As soon as you’ve used up your avenues of ideas, the only thing to do is to perfect them, working through and interacting with others. So I felt like I could really perfect certain problems in my own playing as I came face-to-face with them, and with no-where to go. I could only extend upon them. I felt very vulnerable with the other musicians around – I didn’t know 3 of the people playing, and I’d not had any relationship with them before. Towards the end this pushed us further apart – which could’ve been an advantage or a disadvantage, depending on the listen. But at the end of the performance, it was nice to have a handshake and a quick talk with those people because you’d been through a lot with them…

On being pushed apart – I felt further away from those guys because I was playing with a shadow of how they would be able to play in their own context, fully healthy, on form. I felt the same. By the time they stopped listening to themselves, and listening to the ensemble more – when pushing to keep playing was difficult – the end result was a shadow of what happened before.

I think there was a moment where… a moment of anger, playing around with feedback/ effect (which I never do) I ended up shaking the guitar and ended up with a sound I’ve never made before, which I tried to carry on making. While also feeling vulnerable, and pissed off at the same time…

I really liked listening to Clive a lot of the time – Clive and I kept laughing with each other across the stage. It was nice to have a happy face there, someone saying ‘we can do this’. I liked what Clive was doing. Whenever I heard his prepared feedback from this guitar… after what I played, there was never any deadpan silence.

The participation from the audience members was… strange. I don’t think I would ever join in to a bunch of musicians playing incoherent music and just ignore them, or just start playing whatever… ignoring everyone around you, like you’re trying out an instrument in a music shop. There was very little genuine joining in from the audience. But there was lots of selfish joining in for their own reasons. Also, because I was so tired, we as a group sometimes ended up following those people,  rather than playing ourselves. I remember following someone for 20 minutes and then going ‘oh, that’s bollocks’ and trying to get back to us (which is doubly difficult when you’ve not slept…). It wasn’t all bad though – Will of ViV was particularly good…


Written by Hákarl

November 13, 2011 at 6:59 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Jamie: “ Within 36 hours you feel like you’re being suffocated by your instrument and others around you…” (full text) […]


Leave a Reply

